With the Backorder Alert option enabled, users will be alerted when the quantity of a product in their cart is more than what the warehouse has on hand. This alert will also be included in the order confirmation email.
Note, this setting is separate from the Allow Negative Demand setting and does not affect whether or not users can order more than is available.
This setting can be toggled at both the customer and the part level. Meaning in order for the backorder alert to show, Backorder Alert must be enabled for the portal and for the part.

Benefits to the Client
- Ensure users know when the order they are going to place will put a product on backorder and therefore likely take extra time to ship.
How It Works
To enable Backorder Alerts on a customer’s portal:
- Go to Portals / Select a Customer / Settings.
- In the User Experience section, find the setting called “Enable Backorder Alert”.
- Set Enable Backorder Alert to “Yes”.
- Click Save
- Go to Parts
To enable Backorder Alerts for a part:
- Go to Part / Parts / Select a Part.
- In the Basic Settings section find the setting called “Show Backorder Alert”.
- Set Show Backorder Alert to “Yes”.
- Click Save.
You can also change the Show Backorder Alert setting for multiple parts at a time using Bulk Edit:
- Go Part / Parts.
- Select multiple parts.
- Click Bulk Edit.
- Go to Part Flags.
- Check the box next to Show Backorder Alert.
- Set to “Yes” or “No”.
- Click Save.
Contact our support team at: [email protected] or 512.522.2883
Find all of our Did You Knows here: Knowledge Library
